Nature in Monroe
  Public Safety

Contact Us

Monroe Town Hall Offices
7 Fan Hill Road
Monroe, Connecticut 06468

PHONE(203) 452-2800
HOURSMonday - Thursday

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Department History

In 1947, the Connecticut State Legislature empowered the Town of Monroe to organize a Police Department. In 1952, the Monroe Police Department was organized. Law enforcement in the Town of Monroe went from Constables to an organized police force, With Jacob J. Tufano appointed as the first Chief of Police.

This original department was made up of the Chief, one Sergeant, four Constables, and 25 Auxiliary police officers. The Police Department handled 849 calls for service, serving a population of 2,892. The department continued to grow, with the addition of new personnel and updated equipment. By 1967, the Police Department had grown to include the Chief, three Sergeants, eight Patrol Officers, and one Policewoman. In 1974, the department had reached a staff of 22 sworn officers. In this same year Chief Tufano announced his retirement. Regis Desrosiers was appointed as the Department's second Chief of Police. In 1977, Chief Regis Desrosiers retired, and Robert J. Wesche was appointed to the Chief's position, becoming the third member of the Department to hold that rank.

The 1980s brought about many changes. The first female Police Officer was hired, and the Department added K-9 "Starsky" to the Patrol Division.By 1982, the Department had grown to 28 sworn officers, and handled over 20,000 calls for service. In 1988, two Lieutenant positions were created. In 1989, the D.A.R.E. Program was initiated in Monroe, and the Department saw the new "E-911" System installed. In 1992, the Monroe Police Department was at full staff with 33 sworn officers, and handled 18,896 calls for service. The population of Monroe was 16,812.

1994 was a year of technological advancement. A department-wide computer system was purchased and installed. After 40 years of dedicated service, Chief Robert Wesche retired, and on December 1, 1998, John L. Salvatore was appointed as the fourth Chief in Department history.

On February 25, 2022, Keith White was sworn in as the 5th chief in department history.

Additional Links

Contact Information


24 -Hour Non Emergencies Dial

Monroe Police Department
7 Fan Hill Road
Monroe, CT  06468

General Number
Phone: 203-452-2830

Anonymous Tipline
Phone: 203-452-2839

Phone: 203-261-3622

FAX Number 203-261-4769

Records Unit
(Mon-Fri 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM)
Phone: 203-452-2832

Chief Keith White 
Phone: 203-452-2833

Captain Gregory Smith
Phone: 203-452-2834

Detective Division
Phone: 203-452-2831

Patrol Division Commander
Phone: 203-452-2838

Support Services Commander 
Phone: 203-452-2849

Animal Control
Phone: 203-452-3760

Child Safety Seat Appointments 
Phone: 203-261-3622